Average White Band - Average White Band (180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl/Limited Anniversary Edition)

Sale price$32.98


  • The # 1 Funk Lp Is Back!
  • One Of The Most Sampled Bands In Musical History!
  • Awb's #1 Pick Up The Pieces Now In The Audiophile Vinyl Domain!
  • First Time Friday Music 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl
  • Mastered Impeccably By Joe Reagoso At Friday Music & Capitol Mastering
  • Average White Band On Tour Throughout 2017

Images may differ from actual vinyl colors, and product mock ups may not accurately represent actual product.

Track List

Side One:

  1. You Got It
  2. Got The Love
  3. Pick Up The Pieces
  4. Person To Person
  5. Work To Do
Side Two:
  1. Nothing You Can Do
  2. Just Wanna Love You Tonight
  3. Keepin' It To Myself
  4. I Just Can't Give You Up
  5. There's Always Someone Waiting

Additional Details

Average White Band is synonymous with all things great about the fusion of soul, rock & jazz and making it one of more successful recipes that brought this amazing Scottish band to the forefront of the music scene in the mid 70's. With a helping hand from friend Eric Clapton, AWB were brought to the attention of the folks at Atlantic Records and the rest is music history.

1974 their debut Atlantic Lp "Average White Band", sometimes referred to as "The White Album", took the world by storm with the funk dance floor smash "Pick Up The Pieces." In a rapid pace, the legendary tune brought the single and the Lp to the top of the American charts.

Led by the fine lead vocals of Alan Gorrie (vocal/bass) and Hamish Stuart (vocal/guitar), the debut Lp was filled with more great funk anthems like their tribute to The Isley's with "Work To Do", the brilliant soul Stuart/Gorrie masterwork "Person To Person" and of course Gorrie's stellar "There's Always Someone Waiting."

Funk reigns to this day as AWB's sound has captivated the hip hop and rap world with their awesome beat and rhythms associated in their diverse catalog. They continue to be one of the most sampled bands in history as this incredible album is a catalyst to this celebrated music genre.

For the first time in North America, Friday Music is very pleased to announce the First time 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl release of Average White Band by Average White Band. Mastered impeccably by Joe Reagoso (Tower Of Power, Earth, Wind & Fire, The Isley Brothers), this brilliant album shines in the audiophile vinyl domain.

The masterwork is also presented in the original Lp sleeve which hasn't been seen in the Lp format for years and is further enhanced with a poly sleeve to protect your vinyl and a poly cover to keep your album cover and brilliant looking as you remember it from the 70's!

"Pick Up The Pieces" this new year with Average White Band's smash #1 Lp, now revisited in the audiophile vinyl domain....courtesy of your funkiest friends at Friday Music!


Their self-effacing name to the contrary, Average White Band was anything but — one of the few white groups to cross the color line and achieve success and credibility playing funk, with their tight, fiery sound also belying their Scottish heritage, evoking American R&B hotbeds like Detroit, Memphis, and Philadelphia instead. Singer/bassist Alan Gorrie, guitarists Hamish Stuart and Onnie McIntyre, tenor saxophonist Malcolm Duncan, keyboardist/saxophonist Roger Ball, and drummer Robbie McIntosh comprised the original Average White Band lineup. Veterans of numerous Scottish soul and jazz groups, they made their debut in 1973 as the opening act at Eric Clapton’s Rainbow Theatre comeback gig, soon issuing their debut LP, Show Your Hand, to little notice. After adopting the abbreviated moniker AWB, a year later the band issued their self-titled sophomore effort, topping the American pop charts with the Arif Mardin-produced instrumental “Pick Up the Pieces.” The record’s mammoth success was nevertheless tempered by the September 23, 1974 death of McIntosh, who died at a Hollywood party after overdosing on heroin.

Ex-Bloodstone drummer Steve Ferrone replaced McIntosh for AWB’s third album, 1975’s Cut the Cake, which scored a Top Ten hit with its title track as well as two other chart entries, “If I Ever Lose This Heaven” and “School Boy Crush.” (Put It Where You Want It, issued later that same year, was simply a retitled and repackaged Show Your Hand.) With 1976’s Soul Searching, the group reclaimed the full Average White Band name, scoring their final Top 40 hit with “Queen of My Soul.” Following the live Person to Person, they issued Benny & Us, a collaboration with soul legend Ben E. King. However, after subsequent outings, including 1978’s Warmer Communications, 1979’s Feel No Fret, and 1980’s Shine, failed to recapture the energy of AWB’s peak, the group dissolved in 1982, with Ferrone later joining Duran Duran and Stuart recording with Paul McCartney. Gorrie, Ball, and McIntyre reformed Average White Band in 1989, tapping vocalist Alex Ligertwood for their comeback effort Aftershock. Oft-sampled by hip-hop producers throughout the 1990s, the group continued touring prior to releasing Soul Tattoo in 1996. The live album, Face to Face, followed three years later.


Recently viewed