Regular price $44.98 Sale

The legendary Bay area rock superstars the Grateful Dead scored for over four decades a plethora of wonderful recordings throughout their incredible career. Spearheaded originally by the late great Jerry Garcia, Bob Weir, Phil Lesh, Bill Kruetzmann and the late Ron “Pigpen” McKernan, these ve gentlemen set the world on re with their magni cent artistry and musicianship which is unparal- leled to this day.

With their very rst San Francisco gigs and studio recordings when they were locally known as The Warlocks, the historical impor- tance of these debut sessions would soon become a blueprint for the music world as the Grateful Dead would become one of the band’s and biggest concert attractions of all time.

Over a decade ago, the Grateful Dead unearthed 17 super rare studio recordings from 1965 through 1967. Aside from an ultra rare 45 on Scorpio Records and a collaborative effort with Jon Hendricks on Verve Records, none of these recordings were ever released. Ranging from the very rst sessions at Autumn Records (Beau Brummels, Sly Stone) and then the Scorpio Records sides, these tracks simply became manna for the fans and were truly a nd for any collector of ne rock and roll and early psych and garage rock fare.

Gordon Lightfoot’s Early Morning Rain kicks off the collection, and then the reworks light up as future Dead classics like I Know You Rider, Don’t Ease Me In and Cold Rain and Snow truly become a very important and interesting listen to any fan of the Dead or classic rock in general.

Known for their jams in concert and in the studio setting, you will get to hear stellar takes on rare tracks like Tastebud, The Only Time Is Now, and of course the super rare Jon Hendricks (Lambert, Hendricks & Ross) protest rocker Fire in the City.

These amazing Dead recordings have never been released on the vinyl format that is until now...

Friday Music is very pleased to announce for the very rst time on 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl —The Grateful Dead’s Birth Of The Dead Volume One-The Studio Sessions. This deluxe 2 LP set not only has the original 17 studio sessions unearthed by the Dead them- selves, but it also includes for the very rst time anywhere, several unearthed photos from the lens of the legendary Herb Greene. These rst time issued photos show the very rst sittings of the Grateful Dead and will make your listening hours that much more enjoyable as you stare at the brilliant pictures of your favorite rockers in this very special era.

As a further installment in the exclusive and authorized Grateful Dead Friday Music 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl Series, this ne album is part of a historical two part audiophile vinyl series along with the Birth Of The Dead Volume Two-The Live Sides which will be released in early 2014.

Mastered impeccably for vinyl by Joe Reagoso (Grateful Dead) at Friday Music Studios and at Capitol Records, Hollywood, CA, this limited edition audiophile version of Birth Of The Dead Volume One-The Studio Sessions will truly be a welcome addition to your Dead collection.

Grateful Dead...Birth Of The Dead Volume One-The Studio Sessions...a historic album... rst time release in the audiophile domain...only from your friends at Friday Music...Don’t Ease Me In...

Side 1 The Autumn Sessions

  1. Early Morning Rain

  2. I Know You Rider

  3. Mindbender (Confusion’s Prince)
  4. The Only Time Is Now

  5. Caution (Do Not Stop On Tracks)


Side 2The Autumn Sessions

  1. Can’t Come Down
The Scorpio Sessions
  2. Stealin’ (Instrumental)

  3. Stealin’ (With Vocals)

  4. Don’t Ease Me In (Instrumental)
  5. Don’t Ease Me In (With Vocals)


Side 3The Scorpio Sessions

  1. You Don’t Have to Ask

  2. Tastebud (Instrumental)

  3. Tastebud (With Vocals)


Side 4The Scorpio Sessions

  1. I Know You Rider

  2. Cold Rain and Snow (Instrumental)
  3. Cold Rain and Snow (With Vocals)

The Hendricks Session4. Fire in the City